Sunday, April 24, 2011

Lord of the Rings: The Card Game Scenario 2 - The Lost Road

Courtesy of BGG user GeckoTH all of my scenarios are now available in hi res format and ready for download here:

Links to my four scenarios:

Lord of the Rings: The Card Game Scenario 1 - The Old Forest

Lord of the Rings: The Card Game Scenario 2 - The Lost Road

Lord of the Rings: The Card Game Scenario 3 - Forgotten Ruins

Lord of the Rings: The Card Game Scenario 4 - The Elven Assembly:

I tried to design a scenario where you could use just one hero (an option offered in the rules but not backed up by the difficulty of the quests included in the game) so here's what I came up with:

Difficulty level = 3

The lands are beset by evil, and murmurings of a darkness growing in Mirkwood are rife across the land.  Towns and cities tighten their borders, and information blends with rumour as fear rises.  With resources and manpower stretched to capacity, you alone are sent to investigate the dark happenings in Mirkwood and bring back your findings to the Council.

The Lost Road is an adventure for one solo hero.  The encounter deck is built with all the cards from the following encounter sets: Dol Guldur Orcs, Passage Through Mirkwood, and Spiders of Mirkwood.


The (Lost Road) set-up also notes, that players only play one sphere of influence, but it is not clear, if NinjaDorg is commenting to the players or set a rule into effect. I could have Aragorn in play with Celebrian's Stone, allowing him to play spirit cards. I am not sure, if the scenario allows me to build that deck.

The idea is you are not allowed to use any cards from more than one sphere. So, using your example, no Spirit cards for Aragorn, but Gandalf is allowed.

Every other turn, after the first; is that the first and second, then skip the third – or is it the first, skip the second?

I think you played The Lost Road’s staging correctly. “Every other turn” means after setting up the game you do the following:

Take one turn, but don’t Stage.
Take second turn, and Stage.

Finally, I think “Will of the West” should be removed from all decks before any game begins. (And that applies to the core scenarios too!)


Nacho said...

Hi, I'm Spanish so English isn't my mother language.

I don't understand this: "you only need to carry out the staging element of the quest phase every other turn after your first turn, for this stage only"

Sorry, but can you explain me the meaning of this phrase??

Thank you very much.

Ninjadorg said...

Sure: Staging is when you draw monsters from the encounter deck during the Quest phase. So during this part of the Quest (1B) you only do Staging every 2nd turn, giving you a bit of a break.

When you beat this part of the quest (1B) you go back to normal staging rules. Is that clearer?

Nacho said...

Yes it is.

Thank you very much!!!!!

Anonymous said...

okey, I don't want to be a weirdo but, I LOVE YOU MAN.

Ninjadorg said...

Haha, um. Thanks? :)

online gaming sites said...

Thank you very much for sharing this